Welcome to the RSPBA NI website.
Airtight Bag Seasoning

Latest News

Posted by Ian Burrows on 1 November 2015 8:38 PM

The Mid-Ulster Section held their AGM on Wednesday 28th of October in the Royal Hotel Cookstown and the following Officers were elected:

President - Samuel Glasgow MBE, Vice Presidents - Norman Bell and Alex Crooks,Chairman - Trevor Wilson,Vice Chairman - Lowry Ferguson,Secretary -Dessie McLaughlin,Treasurer - John Gilmour, Assistant Treasurer - Malcolm Wilson,Trophy Officer - Gladys Cardwell, Assistant Trophy Officer - Cheryl Cardwell

Photo 1, back row left to right, Winston Pinkerton, (RSPBANI President), Arlene Graham, (RSPBANI Vice Chairman), Ray Hall, (RSPBANI Chairman).

Front row left to right, Lowry Ferguson, (RSPBANI Vice President and Mid-Ulster Section Vice Chairman) Trevor Wilson (Mid-Ulster Section Chairman) Dessie McLaughlin (Mid-Ulster Section Secretary) Alec Crooks (Mid-Ulster Section Vice President).

Photo 2, left to right, Winston Pinkerton (RSPBANI President) Arlene Graham (RSPBANI Vice Chairman) Trevor Wilson (Mid-Ulster Section Chairman) Ray Hall (RSPBANI Chairman).

Posted by Ian Burrows on 12 October 2015 10:37 AM

The Mid-Ulster Section of Royal Scottish Pipe Band Association Northern Ireland Branch will hold its Annual General Meeting on Wednesday, 28th October, 2015, commencing at 8.00 p.m., in the Royal Hotel, Cookstown, County Tyrone.

A full attendance of representatives from all bands within the Mid-Ulster Section area would be very much appreciated.

Posted by Ian Burrows on 8 June 2015 4:48 PM

Many thanks to Newsletter ‘Tartan Talk’ columnist for compiling the following two picture slideshows from the Mid-Ulster Pipe Band contest on the Newsletter website.  One of the links shows the ‘competitive’ side of competitions and the other one shows the ‘social’ side. 

Click on the following two links to see Andrew’s excellent slideshows:

Click here for slideshow one

Click here for slideshow one

Posted by Ian Burrows on 1 June 2015 12:18 PM

The draw for the Mid-Ulster Championships can be viewed by clicking here

Posted by Ian Burrows on 18 March 2015 4:50 PM

The Mid-Ulster Section is inviting tenders for all stalls (including catering) for the Mid-Ulster Championships to be held on Saturday, 6th June, 2015. Venue: Mid-Ulster Sports Arena, Tullywiggan Road, Cookstown, County Tyrone.

Closing date for all applications: Thursday, 30th April, 2015. Tenders, with supporting documentation, should be sent to: Dessie McLaughlin, Hillview, 18 Beagh Road, Beagh, Omagh, County Tyrone, BT78 1TE. For further information, please e-mail: dessiemc18@btinternet.com or telephone: 077 4322 9919.

Posted by Ian Burrows on 17 October 2014 4:21 PM

The Annual General Meeting of the Mid-Ulster Section will be held on Tuesday, 28th October, commencing at 8.00 p.m. in the Royal Hotel, Cookstown.

Posted by Ian Burrows on 28 July 2014 3:20 PM

The Mid-Ulster Section of The Royal Scottish Pipe Band Association Northern Ireland Branch celebrates its sixtieth anniversary this year.  The first contest held by the Mid-Ulster Section, under the umbrella of the Scottish Pipe Band Association, was on Saturday, 2nd July, 1955, at Killymoon Demesne, Cookstown.

The 60th Mid-Ulster Championships for pipe bands and drum majors will be held on Saturday, 2nd August, at the Mid-Ulster Sports Arena (MUSA), Tullywiggan Road, Cookstown.  There is an excellent entry of 47 bands and 49 drum majors with bands attending from right across Ireland.  Battlehill Pipe Band will be the first band to compete at 11:40

The organisers are operating a free shuttle bus to those attending the contest. This town centre shuttle bus will be available to pick up passengers at the front of the Mid-Ulster Sports Arena and transport them to The Burnavon Arts and Cultural Centre, Burn Road, Cookstown. This service will be available from 12.00 noon to 4.00 p.m.

Pictured at the launch of this year’s Mid-Ulster Championships are, from left: Lynn Shiels, Town Strategy manager (acting); Desmond McLaughlin, Secretary Mid-Ulster Section; Alex Crooks, Vice-President Mid-Ulster Section; Wilbert Buchanan, Chairman Cookstown District Council; Lowry Ferguson, Chieftain; Sam Glasgow M.B.E., President Mid-Ulster Section; Oliver McShane, Head of Sports Services Cookstown District Council; and Ray Hall, Chairman Northern Ireland Branch.

Posted by Ian Scott on 8 October 2013 10:21 AM

Mid Ulster Section's AGM takes place on Wednesday 9th October commencing at 7.30pm in the Royal Hotel Cookstown.

All Mid-Ulster band representatives are welcome.